Mid Atlantic Brewing News April/May 2017 : Page 2

2 Mid-Atlantic Brewing News PUBLISHERS Bill Metzger bill@brewingnews.com Jamie Magee jamie@brewingnews.com EDITOR Greg Kitsock greg@brewingnews.com ADVERTISING MANAGER Mike Horkan 301-312-3535 mike.horkan@brewingnews.com Next Advertising Deadline: MAY 10 STATE COR RE SPON DENTS DELAWARE George Hummel george@brewingnews.com MARYLAND Kevin Smith kevin.smith@brewingnews.com BALTIMORE Alexander D. Mitchell alexander.mitchell@brewingnews.com PENNSYLVANIA Jack Curtin (E.Pa.) jackcurtin@brewingnews.com Jim Weber (Central Pa.) jim.weber@brewingnews.com George Hummel (Phila.) george@brewingnews.com VIRGINIA Steve Marler steve.marler@brewingnews.com WASHINGTON DC Stephen Lipps stephen@brewingnews.com WEST VIRGINIA John Yevuta john.yevuta@brewingnews.com NEW JERSEY Mark Haynie mark.haynie@brewingnews.com CONTRIBUTORS Martin Morse Wooster martin@brewingnews.com Steve Frank & Arnold Meltzer brewsbrothers@brewingnews.com BREWHAHA:Mitch Scheele mitch@breewingnews.com April/May 2017 Tour continued from cover Shaw-area brewpub, it’s got 12 taps, but offers a very different lineup. Brewmaster Zeender describes his brewing style as “yeast focused” and adds, “I like beers that are dry.” He also likes to experiment with mixed fermentations, maintaining three separate cultures that incorporate standard Saccharomyces, saison yeasts, Brett, and Lactobaccillus. Zeender uses color-coded lines to prevent cross-contamination: red hoses for the normal brews and gray for the sour beers. A highlight of the brewery tour: three 45-hectoliter (38-bbl) French-oak foeders acquired from a Virginia winery. Right Proper is one of a few domestic breweries using the solera method, a process that involves fractional blending in such a way that the finished product is a mixture of young and older versions of the same liquid. The average age gradually increases over many years as the barrel develops its own stable character. For Baron Corvo , a sour ale in the Rodenbach mold, Zeender empties half the contents of a foeder every 6-8 weeks and refills it with a fresh base beer. White Bicycles , a “rustic witbier” made with Mandarina hops and black limes, undergoes a similar aging. Right Proper beers are distributed in DC, Maryland and Virginia, kegs only. You can find growlers at farmers markets at DC’s Dupont Circle and Penn Quarter neighborhoods. But Right Proper beers are perhaps best enjoyed in the brewery’s lovely tasting room with its cherrywood bar and furniture Nathan Zeender, head brewer and co-founder of Right Proper Brewing, mans the bar at the brewery's Brookland production facility, which expects to turn out 2,500 bbl this year. and colorful chalk murals. Musicians take note: it’s probably the only brewery with an upright piano in the bathroom. Sign of the Salamander Mid-Atlantic Brewing News is published bimonthly, on 100% recycled paper. Over 50,000 copies are distributed to breweries, brew on prem-ises, homebrew supply shops, and high variety beer bars and stores across the Mid-Atlantic region. One year sub scrip tions (6 issues) are available for $20 US or $25 Canadian at the following address: MABN . 571 South Park Ave.Buffalo, NY 14204. All material ©2017 by Mid-Atlantic Brewing News , unless otherwise noted. Once you exit the Brentwood Metro, follow the smell of malt cooking to find Hellbender Brewing at 5788 2nd St. NE. The brewery was opened two-and-a-half years ago by former homebrewers Ben Evans and Patrick Mullane. They named their business after a species of salamander that’s the largest in North America. There are about 45 specimens of this endangered amphibian at the National Zoo, which has teamed up with the brewery for fundraisers. Hellbender is an environmentally conscious business. Its equipment includes a Meura membrane mash filter, a device used by about 90% of Belgian breweries but rare in America, according to Evans. Consisting of a series of micromesh filter pads backed by rubber bladders, it squeezes out the liquid portion of the mash, while the solids drop out as a moist, mealy material that’s shipped to a local farm for “cow happy hour.” The Meura filter allows the brewing grains to be ground to a flour-like consistency, permitting a much more efficient conversion of starches into sugar that uses less grain and about 30% less water. Hellbender’s best-selling beers are its Ignite IPA and Southern Torrent Saison with Red Line Ale and Bare Bones Kölsch close

6ix Pack Carrier

Using a screen reader? Click Here